Washington D.C Sports

Sports News


The D.C. Sports & Entertainment Commission, an independent agency of the District of Columbia government, is responsible for the management and operation of Robert F. Kennedy Memorial Stadium, the D.C. Armory and their adjacent facilities and for presenting and promoting sports, entertainment and special events in the District and the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area. The Commission is overseen by an 11-member board of directors, led by Chairman Mark Tuohey.

The Commission played a significant role in bringing major league baseball back to the nations capitol. The Washington Nationals will play at RFK Stadium until a new stadium is built along the Anacostia waterfront. The Commission is leading the contracting effort for construction of the new stadium and will own and lease the facility when complete.

The Commission is also actively working on multiple major projects including the development of several new venue opportunities, rejuvenating the Commission’s two primary facilities, supporting citywide and community events such as the Washington, DC Marathon and DC Public Schools sports tournaments and working with other city organizations on such programs as the Anacostia Waterfront Initiative.

Board of Directors

Matthew D. Cutts, Esq.
Chair, DCSEC Board of Directors
Partner, Patton Boggs LLP

John Boardman
Executive Secretary-Treasurer of Local 25
Hotel and Restaurant Employees Union

Natwar M. Gandhi
DC Chief Financial Officer

Linda Greenan
Chiar, Personnel/Grants Committees
Georgetown University

William Hall,
Chair, Baseball Committee

Lloyd J. Jordan
Holland & Knight

Vincent S. Morris

Benjamin M. Soto
President, Paramount Title & Escrow, LLP

Major General. David F. Wherley, Jr.
Chair, Armory Committee
D.C. National Guard

Regina Knox Woods
Vice President of Government Affairs
Georgetown University Hospital

Executive Staff

Gregory A. O’Dell, Chief Executive Officer

Lee Smith, Chief of Staff

Wilma G. Matthias, Chief Financial Officer

Scott A. Burrell,

Chinyere Hubbard, Director of Communications and Public Affairs

Ollie Harper, Director of Facility Operations

Courtland Cox, Director of LSDBE Development